Welcome To The Sunday Soundtrack – 15 Aug 2010

Hello listeners…

Welcome to another (long awaited) edition of The Sunday Soundtrack. I trust everyone has been enjoying this quickly fleeting summer. It’s been dissipating a little TOO quickly for me. In any event, it’s really good to be back, bringing you another collection of chilled tracks for your listening pleasure. I want to take a moment to thank all those who passed encouragement along my way during the hiatus. I trust it will not be as long between podcasts. I enjoyed putting this one together in hopes that you’ll enjoy what it has to offer.

On deck are a number of my fave artists, none new to the podcast, but adding a certain, je ne sais quois (kidding), a certain chilled out, laid back flow for your relaxing moments. 4Hero, Blackfish, Bebel Gilberto, and Afterlife are a few of the offerings on tap. Without further adieu, I bring you…the playlist:


1 – Morning Child f/Carina – 4Hero/Play With The Changes
2 – Hidden Shore – Blackfish/Hidden Shore
3 – Sustain & Maintain (Love’s Remix) – Big La vs. Todd/Blue… Kinda Grey
4 – Let It Go – Angelica Love Ross
5 – Somewhere – Alex Cortiz/Mood Food
6 – Seed – Keston and Westdal/Truth is Stranger
7 – s.i.p. – Boozoo Bajou/Dust My Broom
8 – All Around (Telefon Tel Aviv Remix) – Bebel Gilberto/Telefon Tel Aviv-Remixes Compiled
9 – Sunrise [DJ Thunda & The K20 Allstars Mix] – Afterlife/Collections: The Best Songs of Ibiza’s Sunset
10 – Rood Beatz (Cornucopia Remix) – Afterlife/Lounge Ibiza Vol. 2

All of the above tracks featured on today’s podcast can be found on iTunes and Amazon.com.

I’d like to give a special shout out to Dionne…I know it’s been a moment, but I’d be remiss if I forgot the message a special friend of yours gave to me some months ago. I hope you enjoy today’s podcast.

Wishing all of you a great day as well. Thanks again for listening…

::: oceans of rhythm :::

Fresh!

Posted in Sunday Soundtrack Podcast | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

12th Run – Nike+


(Image use courtesy of Nike.com)

Good day all,

I hope this post finds you well. I got up early this Saturday morning (5:30am) to go on an early morning run. I succeeded in doing so. I did a little editing of a podcast I am posting tomorrow, drank some Gatorade G2, had a little apple sauce. By the time I got to the track (6:39 am), it was already bustling with walkers. Anybody already out walking around a track at 6:45am on a Saturday morning, has got to be serious about their fitness.

I warmed up and started my run. After the first lap I already heard that G2 in my stomach and yet again realized one thing: I dislike running outdoors, which made me realize another thing: I have to start running more outdoors. While running outdoors is far more popular, running in the gym is more convenient for me (and my performance is much better). I want the best of both worlds, so time to have at it.

Today’s run was eh…not my best time. I’m still not convinced my form is quite right (meaning foot placement), maybe still too much heel. I’m learning to land a bit more on the balls of my feet but not totally, as I watch other runners for their form and it seems they are not on their heels at all. I’ll get there. Right now the goal is to build cardiovascular endurance.

On a related note, I got the pleasure of teaching a good friend all I know about Nike+ (she seems to think I should work for them or something, based on my blog posts- *wink*) I think she’s gonna enjoy using it, via the Sportsband or iPod solution! Best wishes whenever she gets started.

Ok, here are today’s run stats
Ran 1 mi on 8/14/2010 at 6:47 AM

Time to keep it movin’ this day….

peace!
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Cross Country Collective (C3) – This is How We Do It (leveraging the ‘net/making music)

Some of you know about a remote collaboration I’m involved in called C3. C3 is the brainchild of Fave and The Big La. Here’s the scoop in case you haven’t seen it:

I am pleased to share with you the debut single, “Give it 2 Ya” from our upcoming EP, Contempojazzsoulhop.

Produced by The Big La and Fave
Lyrics written by Fave
Drums and Sampling: The Big La
Electric guitar: Fresh
Keys and Vocals: Fave

It is (and continues to be) a blessing to work with such open-minded, talented and tech savvy brothers. You may download the single using the title link above or from our website. Feel free to share it among your social networks (i.e., Twitter, Facebook, etc.).

So, how does C3 do it…how do we make this music happen when I’m on the East coast, Fave is down in the Big T and The Big La on the West coast?. We all use Apple’s Logic Studio to compose music on our individual and collective fronts. This little chat transcript is of example of how we make the magic happen…this is me and Big La on GMail chat not too long ago:

Sent at 9:33 PM on Wednesday, August 11
me:  yo….
todd:  sup man what’s goin’ on?
me:  U man…! I saw the tweet and the email traffic about Bra Strap…where
is the project uploaded…wanna do a lil somethin wid it
todd:  ha ha. yeah
it’s at: (upload directory)
pass: xxxxxxx
thought you’d HAVE to do a instrumental solo version
me:  ha….I’m on my way
todd:  in the “C3 Sessions”
me: cool!
todd:  just rock the guitar on top of it
me:  u know it
todd:  some nice reverb and echo, super quiet track…it’s still just a proof of concept
me:  i heard the original….sensual bruh…I’m feelin that
todd:  haven’t tracked it out to 3-4 minutes
me:  no prob…u know how we build!
todd:  fave has an updated one be plays on but haven’t got that session yet
me:  oh ok, I saw the tweets about it, we can grow it all eventually
todd:  wait. i’m late on tweets…ha ah
todd:  trying to get a few tracks done before my creative phase gets put on hold again
me:  i’m there! sup with the other session…more C3 under development?
me:  man, you and Fave…i gotta grow to be like y’all
 todd:  think that’s from fave
 me:  my creative phase has been  on lock! haha
 todd:  yes it is from him
 me:  ok cool
 todd: that’s the one i did before bra strap. i think fave funked it up. downloading now
 me:  cool ima get that too
 todd:  yup GET TO WORK!!! lol
 me:  u know it!!!…gotta get on that insomniatical night owl tip again…hahahah
 me:  Ok, I’m out your box…I’ll get back to you. peace.
 todd:  aight. peace!

There you have it….leverage technology and the net to compose, engineering, mix, and produce this EP. Stay tuned.

All the best,
Fresh!

Posted in Logic/Logic Pro/Logic Pro 8, Music Production/Studio Recording, Technology | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

11th run – Nike+

Evening crew.

Had a really good run during lunch. Everything about it from the mental prep through the end of it was good. The gym was packed with an exercise class right in front of me – maybe that added a lil energy to me as well.

The anomaly was me somehow during off the female feedback voice (or so I thought I did – checking the iPod now shows it as on) I didn’t hear her during the whole run, which resulted in a longer, but best workout length so far.

After work, my kids persuaded me to head out to the track so they could jog, so I guess I can add that on as post-run activity. I also met my first goal!

Here are today’s run stats. Ran 1.49 mi on 8/10/2010 at 12:14 PM

Answering my friend’s tweet, I’ll sleep good tonite!

peace,
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

10th Run – Nike+

Greetings…

Back from my run. This time it was on a different terrain – the track. Today I saw how much different running outdoors (again) is than running in a more controlled environment. This one was not one of my better runs (could it have been the nap beforehand?). I’ll attribute the less than desirable performance to the terrain – I had to walk part of it, as opposed to the steady non-stop runs I do indoors. This tells me I have to run outdoors more. I think it’s time I look into Nike+ Coach. Let’s go! This is where I’m trying to get to:

On another note…this was a family event. Wife and kids came this time. Son had a good share of running, while the ladies near power-walked. Great temps – low 70’s. More people were on the tennis courts than on the track, although by 8:15pm, people were still coming. I’ll miss daylight savings time.

Todays run stats: Ran 1.02 mi on 8/7/2010 at 7:50 PM

peace!
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

9th Run – Nike+

Good evening crew…

Short post here. Work has it’s ebbs and flows of busy-ness. Today was a flow, that flow right into my lunch hour. Needless to say I didn’t run during that time and decided to go right after work. About 3pm, and being a Friday, I started to skip the run altogether…BUT…missing out on a run last weekend put me behind in reaching my goal for tomorrow. Unfortunately this run was not a good one. I definitely wasn’t mentally hyped for it, and the performance showed (plus, they cut the AC off in the gym after 5pm….what? So what I was the only one there :-))

Anyway, the dreaded run stats: Ran 0.92 mi on 8/6/2010 at 5:44 PM. Looking to do a 6am run in the morning., Seeing as it’s 10:47pm, I should be getting in the bed, huh?

peace!
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

8th Run – Nike+

Hey Crew…

I trust all is well with you. I got in not too long ago from the track, where my kids decided they wanted to go for a run. It was my daughter’s first time and she did well. We jogged two laps and walked two. As expected (at 8:10pm) there were a good amount of runners and walkers at the track, per the cooler temps.

After a few days off, I finally got back to my regular lunch time run schedule. Today was another personal best (as notified by Tiger Woods in my headphones after I completed the workout). It’s really convenient to have a gym in the building, as lunchtime is the perfect time to run for me during the week. Run stats are below, along with a description of my run.

My daughter has a new iPod Touch, which comes with the Nike+ app preloaded. If she gets into running, all I need to do is get her the sensor and maybe even the shoes…or neither…go for the wristband. Looking for a cheap iPod Nano for my son, as he is sensor all the way. He gets a kick out of the Nike+ minis (think Wii Miis) on the website…go figure.

Today’s run. Ran 1.12 mi on 8/4/2010 at 12:21 PM

Until next time…peace!

F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

7th Run – Nike+

What’s up crew…

Hope all is well. After a string of HOT days, the temps have eased down a bit. I packed my gym bag this morning hoping to run, but didn’t think I’d get it in. Boss is back from vacation and had ANOTHER meeting that dipped into my lunch hour, but I went and did it anyway. Turns out, it was my best mile yet, so I’m definitely excited about getting THAT news.

The pace was good, finally getting the breathing rhythm going a lot smoother. and the form is slowly getting better (less and less shin splints).

I’m definitely down with the whole Nike+ system. Always good encouragement:
10 kilometers down. Now let’s see what else you’ve got. You’re off to a fantastic start. Whether your first 10K was a breeze or hard-earned, keep it up.

Anyway, today’s run stats.

Never knew I’d love running so much. Hopefully I can hit the track this weekend sometime.

peace,
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

6th Run – Nike+

Greetings crew.

This afternoon’s run wasn’t TOO bad. After sufficiently warming up, I hit the treadmill again hoping to better my run time over yesterday. I started at a 5 mph pace and it felt good….up until reaching 400 m left to go. Slow and steady should have been the pace for this beginner lol. Slowed it down to a little greater than 4 mph for 200 m left, then back up to finish it out. Next run will have a slower initial start time. Still ended up improving my run time over yesterday, so that’s cool.

Run stats are here

Have a great day!
F

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Leave a comment

5th Run – Nike+

Greetings crew:

I hope this post finds you well. Today was the first indoor run using the Nike Plus system. As you already know, I am definitely into it. It was a lunch time run in our corporate gym on the first floor. Turns out that I may be doing a great deal of running here for many reasons (especially during the winter). The run was good, breathing pace was the best yet and it also turned out to be my best mile time to date. Running on a treadmill proved to be the easiest thus far, with running on a track being a very close second. As I get seasoned, I hope enjoy running along various city and landscapes, but right now the terrain is less than desirable.

One of my regular readers, Rezzy asked me, in the previous post, what’s my playlist is. Take a look here. What’s the Power Song? “Housequake” – Prince/Sign Of The Times

Anyway, here are the stats from today’s run. Already looking forward to tomorrow’s “power lunch”.

peace,
F!

Posted in Fitness/Training/Nutrition | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment